Why I Want My Kids Playing Video Games 🎮

and why I don’t care if other parents judge me

erika
4 min readApr 4, 2018
Retrieved from Wallpaper Wiki

I have a picture of my daughter from when she was twelve years old. Her knuckles are white from clutching the Xbox controller with every ounce of stress in her body, the headset’s enormity overwhelming the small shape of her face, I can feel the power of her voice as the camera snapped the shot as she was screaming at the television.

This was back before there was wireless anything. She was on a mission to save planet earth from the vicious wrath of alien invaders.

My son was seven years old when I first put a controller in his hand. It’s been a decade since then and he’s in his bedroom right now playing Call of Duty. He owns and has beaten all eleven Call of Duty games created throughout his lifetime.

Of course video games are to blame for everything. I’ve heard it all. The most popular being obesity, attention deficits and emotional issues, violence and because of this I have been judged, at times harshly by other parents.

And here’s me, always on the defense.

Yes, my kids went outside every day while growing up. They still do. They jump on the trampoline and skateboard from spring through fall and go sledding and build snowmen during the winter months.

--

--